Halloween Pumpkin Muffins and Mummies Appetizers

Hi everyone and Happy Halloween!

I’m finally back home from work and I’m feeling exhausted at the beginning of my second week of internship already. Thank goodness tomorrow’s All Saint’s Day and I’ll get a break, meaning that even though I’m not working in the company, I still have tons of projects and designs I have to do before I come back to academy in 2 weeks, but at least I’m gonna spend the whole day sitting at my desk instead of running from one department to another eheh.
I have to admit though, I’m loving EVERY, SINGLE, MINUTE, of it. Well, I mean, it’s my childhood dream coming true. I’ve always dreamt of working in a bridal company and I remember my first day last week, I was almost crying tears of joy and felt so happy and complete surrounded by all those beautiful wedding gowns and when I touched one, I was like… dying inside, and all of this while trying to act natural. And I’ve learnt so much already about anything, from cutting to ironing, from trimming to reinventing lace, I just felt so insipired that even if I had moments when I got bored of cutting lace for meters and meters, I then looked at that complete masterpiece and fell in love again with what I was doing, because it was creating (I was creating) something so extremely beautiful and unique. So can’t wait to see what’s gonna happen in the next weeks and I’m bracing myself for the near-to-come Wedding Fair, that I visit every year  ❤

But now, let’s skip on the main (or only xD) reason why you clicked on this link: these Halloween recipes. I apologize because I really didn’t have time to bake more this year, and I’m so sorry cause I would have come out with more recipes, but no problem, I’m gonna save ’em for next year  😀

Let’s go ahead with the first one, the Pumpkin Muffins! So delicious and easy to make if you consider it’s not such a complicated process, plus muffins are loved from adults and children, they’re so versatile, perfect snack, even if you’re on the go (I’m taking them at work with me):

 

dsc_8870

Ingredients (for 12 muffins)

  • 300g wholemeal flour
  • 2 TBS truvia
  • 300g canned (or baked) pumpkin
  • 100g EVOO (can sub it with sunflower oil, if you don’t have any)
  • 100g unsweetened almond milk
  • 140g dark chocolate chips
  • 15g baking powder
  • cinnamon
  • ginger
  • nutmeg
  • cloves
  • salt

Cut the desire amount of pumpkin, remove the seeds with a spoon, slice it up and put it in the oven on some parchment paper at 180° for about 45-50′ or until you can insert a fork easily. When ready, let cool and peel it (you’ll notice that after baking, the peel will come off easier). If you’re using canned pumpkin, you’ll skip this step.

Once you have your beautiful pumpkin ready to be transformed, put it in a food processor along with the oil and almond milk and let them become a wonderful purée. Then add some salt and the spices to really bring out that flavor and process again until well mixed.

While processing, combine truvia, flour, baking powder and chocolate chips in a large bowl. Then pour the pureed pumpkin mixture and combine the ingredients gently until you have an even result.

Line your muffin tin with fluted paper cups of the same size and fill in with the mixture. Let them bake in oven at 180° for about 30-45′ or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

NOTE: this recipe features no eggs, so if you’re vegan of just can’t eat or dislike eggs, that’s perfect for you, but if you want, you can reduce the pumpkin quantity to around 240g and add an egg, that will give your muffin a more even surface, since they’ll grow a little in the oven (personally, I think I’ll try this process next time I make them, and if you do, let me know xD); also if you don’t like spices you can tot avoid them, I just added them cause I love how they taste combined with pumpkin.

VARIATION: You can make cupcakes adding some whipped coconut cream on top (I would have done it, if I hadn’t had to put them in my food container) or make a creepier version drawing with some chocolate ganache little lines around the chocolate chips to make ’em look like spiders!

The second one is an even easier recipe, an appetizer good for a buffet, that your kids will love and something you can effortlessly prepare even if you’re in a rush and desperate because you wanna do something Halloween-themed too, I know.

dsc_8929

Ingredients (for 8 mummies):

  • 8 würstel
  • 200g puff pastry

Cut long stripes of puff pastry and simply wrap each stripe around a würstel and stop at 3/4. Then take a shorter stripe and wrap it around the edge leaving a space in-between that will be the face of your mummy. Repeat and place your mummies on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Leave in the oven at 180° for 20′ and BAM! Done. Easy, peasy. Plus, can we just take a moment to say how cute they look?

VARIATION: You can use either puff pastry or pâte brisée, in these photos I used the second one ’cause it was left in the fridge, but with the puff pastry you’ll have a more lightweight mummy. You can even draw some eyes with mustard or mayonnaise.

So, time to go now and take some rest. Hope you liked this post and lemme know in the comments below if you try these recipes and how they come out. I’ll see you in the next post.

Stay healthy and creative.
Love you,

Ally

 

 

Leave a Reply

