Healthy rich breakfast plumcake

dsc_9181

Hey beauties,

How are you doing?

I’m pretty busy again, but this time studying graphic design. Even though my brain is about to blast atm, I took the time to experiment this recipe and OH, MY, GOSH… You guys will fall in love with it. This plumcake is so delicious, perfect for breakfast, easy to make and most importantly healthy. Don’t believe it’s possible? Then try it out yourself. This recipe has immediatly become my go-to brekky cake, it was just love at first bite.

When it comes to breakfast, I can tell it’s my favourite meal of the day but I can be very picky, because let’s admit it, I’m italian and I WON’T ever have a savoury breakfast. Lemme be clear though, I’ve never been a fan of croissants or brioches in general but I think it’s something instinctive, I must have a sweet breakfast to start my day right and get me out of bed. Avocado toast or omelette? I love them, but for lunch, snack or dinner, not breakfast, I can’t accept it (lucky you that can have both sweet and savoury brekky, you have more choice!).

Most times I’ll have a bowl of cereal, nuts, seeds and fruit or a smoothie, but sometimes I wake up so lazy I don’t wanna grab all the ingredients and make myself something (even if it’d take 10 min), especially in winter when you’re freezing and you would just wake up and find a cup of hot chocolate on your side table. And that’s when you’re tempted to eat whater it comes in your hand, and let’s be honest, we know it’s always bad unhealthy food. So when I get this feeling I know I need to bake something, so that when I wake up I already know where to find it and not bother about the whole process, plus it’ll last me for about 4-5 days saving time for extra chilling in bed.

So today I share with you this amazing recipe to bake an awesome rich plumcake, that will keep you satieted, energized through the whole day and will have your tastebuds satisfied too. Now here it is the recipe.

dsc_9164

Ingredients (for 1 big loaf or 2 small loaves)

  • 200g wholemeal meal
  • 150g rice flour
  • 50g potato starch
  • 1 ½ TBS truvia (or whatever granulated sweetener)
  • 100g raisins
  • 7 pitted dry prunes
  • 5 dried figs (without almonds inside)
  • 5 pitted dates
  • 60g hazelnuts
  • 60g nuts
  • 27g baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon (1 if you taste it too much)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 400g flavoured tea of choice
  • 150g extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 orange zest
  • pinch of salt

First thing first, choose your favourite tea and make it out of 400g water.

Meanwhile shell the hazelnuts and nuts (if you’re using shelled ones you can skip this step and the effort!). Transfer in a food processor and process them for a few seconds coarsely, you don’t want it finely chopped so make sure you don’t overprocess it. Set aside.

Chop all the prunes, figs and dates in medium to small pieces (can’t skip this :D). Then pour the prepared tea in a bowl (I recommend using a large one not too deep) and add the chopped fruits. Let them sink in for a few hours, I left them for about 3. Then drain the fruits saving the tea in another bowl.

In a large bowl combine the drained fruits, the flours, the starch, the chopped nuts and hazelnuts, the truvia and lastly the baking powder. Add the cinnamon, vanilla extract and grate the orange zest. Stir in

Finally, pour the tea and the oil with a pinch of salt in a food processor and pulse for about 1 minute or until they are well mixed. Pur the mixture into the bowl and stir with the other ingredients gently. Stir gently.

Transfer the final mixture into a 30×10 cm loaf pan and bake in oven at 180° for about 50 min or until a tootpick inserted in comes out clean. Let cool on a grill and enjoy!

dsc_9179

NOTE: This recipe is eggless, vegan and lactose-free, so it’s good for people who have intolerances or follow a certain lifestyle. For tea choice I used a vanilla flavoured black tea, because, unlike green tea, it’s got a more intense flavour, pairs good with any fruits or spices and it’s perfect for breakfast (even though you can’t acually taste it, it gives you those extra antioxidants and caffeine). In this case, I didn’t have such a big loaf pan and used 2 smaller ones (7,5×13,5 cm) but it worked as well. Otherwise I recommend reducing the doses.
SERVE AND STORE: Place the loaf in a hermetic box or cover with plastic wrap for a week.
Serve it alone or top it with some agave sweetened jam, fresh fruit or homemade chocolate syrup. I love having it with a cup of my favourite green tea (as you could guess!)

Hope you guys enjoyed this post as much as I did and don’t forget to let me know if you try this recipe in the comments below. Meanwhile I’ll have a little rest and plan a DIY to share with you very soon.

Until then, stay fit and positive.

Love you,

Ally ❤

 

Leave a Reply

